Logo

1996 Honda BF50A

avidskier1973

Howdy fellow boaters, I'm new to this forum and hoping to get some help with my Honda 50HP Fourstroke.
I purchased a used Rendova 14 with a 1996 Honda 50 hp four stroke. Before purchasing the vessel we took it on a sea trial and then out again after the deal was done and the Honda seems to have behaved well.
Later that day I brought it home and tried running fresh water through the motor with ear muffs but no water come out of the tell-tale which worried me. I didn't happen to notice whether or not the engine was peeing when we had the boat on the water (I assume so.)
I'm not a certified mechanic but have a basic understanding of engines and started to dig around the old interweb for possible issues. Some of the information suggested I look at the thermostat and impeller/water pump. First I poked around the tell-tale connections to the engine and made sure nothing was obstructing flow. Purchased a new thermostat (the old one was cruddy and probably seized). I also ran some water through the thermostat housing (when I had the lower unit off) to make sure nothing was clogged and water did come out through the bottom. I checked and also replaced the impeller (the old one was not in bad shape) but for under $100, for both parts, I took care of two potential issues and gave myself some additional peace of mind.
I put everything back together and initially, there was a good stream coming through the tell-tale. Shortly after, I assume when the engine got up to temp and idling, there wasn't much water coming out of the tell-tale. I did submerge the lower unit up to the anti-ventilation plate inside a large bucket.
The question is, do I have a bigger issue? Should I remove the water jacket and check for additional obstructions or salt deposits that may be clogging the cooling system?