Logo

Purchasing motor online

Mets Fan

New member
Hello all,,

I am interested in purchasing a Honda BF5D. Powerequipmentdirect.com seems to be a good website, however it is about 500 dollars more than others. All other website I look at seem to be based outside of the United States.

I never purchased a brand new motor before let alone online. Anyone have any advice, tips or pointers based on their experience?
Thanks!
 
Make sure the engine is provided with a serialized certificate of conformance. Here is Europe it is a legal requirement to register the boat.
 
Buy 1 locally of a brand that has a good dealer, an online purchase of something like this from an unknown source is a possible big gamble.
 
Wow! $500 markup over msrp??

You don't even see THAT at car dealerships unless it's a hot selling model on backorder and I'm pretty certain that the Honda 5 ain't on backorder.

Even if it's a bit of a drive or a pain or both, I recommend buying that particular item at an authorized dealer in person. That outboard can be transported in the trunk of a car and getting the PROPER documentation along with an actual demonstration that it starts, runs and shifts COULD save you TONS of headaches later.

Just my opinion though.

Good luck.
 
Most outboard motor websites selling from outside of the United States are fraud website. You will get in trouble even if you use a credit card for the payment.
 
Back
Top