Logo

2007 BF150A won't start

jupiterboat

Hi,

I am new to this forum and looking for trouble shooting guidance. I have twin Honda 2007 BF150A 4-stroke outboards. My starboard side will not start. All ignition lights come on and the engine cranks once and that's it. About a week ago the water flow through pee hole was clogged. I unclogged and flushed engine. That was the last time it started. I changed the plugs but that was no help. I was going to check the fuel filter and water separator next but they appear difficult to access unless I remove the intake manifold. I'm not a mechanic but can do basic maintenance. Does anyone have some suggestions on what to check? Both batteries are good. I also checked battery cables and they seem ok.

Thanks

When you say that it cranks once....do you mean that it actually tries to start (fire) once, then stops?

If so, first make sure that the safety landyard is connected.

Second, drain your vapor separator into a glass jar and check for water in the fuel.

You do not have to remove the intake manifold to change the filters that you listed. Your owner's manual shows how to get them out. If you do not have a manual, you can download one for free from Honda. http://cdn.powerequipment.honda.com/marine/pdf/manuals/00X31ZY66100KIT.pdf pages 78 and 79.

Page 84 shows how to drain the vapor separator.

If you are going to change the high pressure fuel filter, you will have to remove the port side panel. It is inside the vapor separator assembly.

There is a few places to begin troubleshooting.

Mike

I'm having a hard time figuring out how to remove the vapor separator to clean it. The manual instructions say remove the suspension strap from the water separator bracket, then remove the strap from the separator assembly. Do you push the strap down over the bowl? Instructions are not very clear.

Thanks