Logo

1995 Evinrude 115 has Water on Spark Plug

ReelCat

Contributing Member
Hello folks, I have a 1995 Evinrude 115 that has run well for me all these years, it has about 700 hours on it. The last time I was out it was missing out at low speed but would still get up and plane. I assumed it was time for a new set of spark plugs. When I pulled the plugs at home I noticed one of them was way more crusty than the rest and there were water droplets all over the end of the plug, not gas but water!
I replaced the plugs anyway and fired it up. Same rough idle. Pulled the plugs and once again that same plug had water on it. I checked the spark with a spark test tool and it was good.
Any idea what may be going on with the water on the spark plug?

Very good, I'll see if I can borrow a compression test gauge from the local parts store.
I've never done a compression test before....do I just screw it into a plug hole, crank it over for a few seconds and then see what the pressure is?
Any idea wht the pressure should be for this ol Evinrude?
I suppose that each cylinder should have roughly the same compression reading?

yeah if they are within 10% of each other they should be good and i am not sure what the reading should be but if they are all around the same reading then you should be good and make sure you pull your lanyard if you have one to kill the ignition switch so the motor does not start and if you don't have a lanyard disconnect the ignition coils and here is a link for a youtube video showing the test being done http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15nH4kXrCw0

Great, that helps.
I see that the guy in the video has all of the plugs removed while doing the test, I was thinking that you only removed one at a time but I guess it wouldn't matter.
I'll try to lay my hands on a compression tester this evening.

Hi Reelcat.

You do want to remove all the plugs before the compression test and then only insert the compression tester into one plug a time. Leave the other plugs open