Logo

VP 280

bob_on_this

Regular Contributor
"I have a VP question. I have

"I have a VP question. I have been boating for some 35 years, and have owned just about every type of drive system, but never a VP. I am looking at a 1985, 28' with a VP 280.
So here's my question, with no power trim, and
the used of a small 12vdc motor (I'm guessing it
runs on a samll gear) can you run the engine forward and reverse (to get onto and off of the trailer, or a beach) with the unit up, or part way up?
I run my Merc Brovo 2 half way up all the time at Lake Powell in "skinny" water.
proud.gif

Thanks
Bob"

"No VP w/o power trim should u

"No VP w/o power trim should use the tilt motor as a "trim". Running in gear with the drive trimmed up is pretty much limited to idle or a few revs above in forward... In reverse, the drive will come up and almost out of the water.
If running around half way up "all the time" is your operating profile, I'd stick to a VP with power trim. By and large, the 200-290 series VPs are much more robust and reliable (if properly maintained) than Mercs.

Running onto and off a beach is possible (I do it all the time here in Barnegat Bay) with the power tilt mechanism, but as indicated above, dead idle or a hundred RPMs above is all. Anything more than that and you run the risk of bending the S/S jack rod that lifts the drive and then you'll have a real problem."

"Thansk Robert,
So if the dri

"Thansk Robert,
So if the drive is all the way down, it is "locked" somehow, and you can back down with a fair amount of power, but if it's tilted up at all, and you run in reverse, the prop wash (at idle)will rise the unit all the way up, or will the drive stay down?

Thanks
Bob"

"A spring loaded latch holds t