Logo

Running the Alpha 1 gen 2 stern drive without water

Jakwi

Hey guys I'm new to boating and I was having an issue with my mercruiser where it would die when hot. It has an inlet hole line rather than muffs.

So I ran it for probably 20 or 30 min that way while carefully watching the temp.

Idle up to 1500 rpm. Turns out I had a bad coil, but now I'm worried I might have damaged the stern drive.

Should I be concerned?

Thanks for the help

Where was this “inlet” line or connection that you mentioned?
Was it in the engine bay as a flushing connection… Or was it on the lower unit?

Your seawater pump is inside of the lower unit and must have a water supply anytime you operate the engine. If not, you will indeed damage the sea water pump impeller and possibly the impeller housing.

Crap, is definitely started making noise at the end.

Is the a minor repair, or did I just try my sterndrive?

First I need to know the answer to my question. Where is this inlet fitting? Is it on the lower gear unit housing..... or is it inside of the engine bay?

If inside the engine bay, you will have circumvented the seawater pump and you will have damaged it.
If it's on the lower gear unit, it should have supplied cooling water.

Running a seawater pump impeller "dry" can damaged it within 10 - 15 seconds, especially if it is very dry.
This is because water lubricates the impeller and the impeller housing.

It's on the transom and leads into the engine bay, so it looks like I damaged it. How big a job is it to repair? I'm a pretty mechanical guy and not afraid to tackle it, I'm just hoping that it is just a rebuild kit and not a whole stern drive.

Man I'm so bummed. I just can't seem to get there with this boat.

The good news is........ you had water within the exhaust system, exhaust bellows and through the exhaust housing within the lower unit. This means it is unlikely that you damaged any of these components.