Logo

Replacing 280 duo prop

zapper1

Good day to all.
I am a newbie to the forum .I have a 26 FT hourston glascraft with a volvo aq 260 and origanally came with a 280 sp.outdrive I've receintly changed the lower out to a duo prop WOW what a difference that made.
My question is that i am slowly piecing together a 290 outdrive I have the newer style transom with the larger pins that attach to the suspension fork,but the leg that i have is a DP A that has the smaller diameter hole on the suspension fork .Is it possible to change the suspension fork to the newer style on the DP A
Question#2 I am also thinking about getting a new crate motor a 330 HP Vortec long block. I know that I will need a new intake manifold Iam going to stay with carb. New starter new flywheel and possible a new cam. Will my egsisting bellhousing bolt up to the larger flywheel. If there is anything else that i need to chage over any input would be greatly appreciated
Thank You in advance Cheers

Yes, what a difference it can make!
I have a small V/P business, and I have switched many boats over to the Duo Prop over the years....., including several of my own.
I currently have a 28 foot SND F/B with twin 5.7's with Duo Prop drives..... so I know exactly what you mean. Big Grin! :D

IMO, you'd be far better off to go later than a 290, and get away from the Reverse Latch unit and the SS anchorage bracket.
This would be a C drive or later drive. (some call this the "large pin" 290.... it is NOT!)
Your Duo Prop will bolt up, minus the proper shimming!
The driven gear bearing size increases, and the gear box thickens, making this a stronger transmission, IMO.
The no reverse latch unit makes this quiet during gear engagement.

If you do go this route, consider a 275 A transmission!

If staying with the 290, then the transmission driven gear bearing diameter will allow you to stay with your Intermediate housing, and change the suspension fork, I believe.