Logo

Need help bringing a Johnson 20R273A back to life

Mike from Atlanta

Regular Contributor
I recently bought a non-running 1973 Johnson 20 HP (20R73A). I have started the work of getting it running but I am new to outboards and I have a bunch of questions. I’m a fairly experienced shade tree motorcycle and small engine mechanic but I have never worked on outboards. I just bought my first boat (1987 MonArk 1448 aluminum flat bottom jon) then bought the this outboard on the cheap to push it. I enjoy tinkering with anything with a motor so hopefully I can get this thing running without spending a fortune.

What I have done so far:

1. Bought a repair manual. Wasn’t sure which one to get. Ended up buying a vintage factory manual published in 1973 on Ebay. All black and white pictures. Pretty cool.
  2. Built an outboard stand. I’ve got a plastic trash can for a test tank.
  3. Bought new fuel tank, fuel line and fittings.
  4. Tested compression. 102 PSI upper cylinder/99 PSI lower cylinder cold
  5. Tested spark. Pulled both spark plugs out, connected them to the plug wires, layed them on the engine block and pulled the rope. Bright, strong looking spark on both plugs easily visible during daylight.
  6. Mixed up some 50:1 premix fuel. Primed the bulb till firm (not sure what this is supposed to feel like). Pulled out the choke which appears to be operating correctly. Pulled on the recoil starter 10-15 times. Nothing. Not even a stutter. Pulled the spark plugs and they were wet. Used compressed air to dry the plugs and blow out the combustion chambers. Pulled the rope a few more times. Nothing. Dried the plugs chambers again.
  7. Put some premix in a spray bottle and misted it into the carburetor. Pulled the starter and this time it did stutter and back fire a bit but no continuous running. attempted this a couple of times with the same result.