Logo

MercuryMariner 99 to 15hp

"I have a 1995 mariner 9.9, ca

"I have a 1995 mariner 9.9, can I swap the powerhead with a used one of a 15hp merc or mariner. How are they different? Are the mercs compatible with mariner? Im just learning how they work. Im sure the carb may be different. Any big differences if I should find a good 15hp powerhead? Is there lots of different changes I would have to make? Thanks"

"Joe, provided that the Marine

"Joe, provided that the Mariner is a Merc built Mariner and not a Yamaha built model, the swap is direct.

The 15 Merc is also a direct swap.

A 1995 9.9 is exactly the same powerhead as a 95-on 15 horse anyhow, only the carb and exhaust plate/tube is different.

The 94 and earlier 15 horse powerhead (back until 1988 - again Merc built only) will also bolt right on no problem.

I own a pair of 9.9's and a 15 horse. I swap them out occassionally on my rig - 14' deep v, full console (total weight 850 pounds loaded).

The difference (although not scientifically tested) is the 15 horse gives me 3 mph more at the top end under ideal conditions - and burns about 40% more fuel.

If you can make the swap by obtaining parts for next to nothing, sure go for it, but if you have to open your wallet I would advise against it - you may be disappointed. If you really want more power, sell your 9.9 and get a 20 or a 25..."

"Thank you for taking the time

"Thank you for taking the time to explain about the Merc swap. Ive learned a ton allready and its much apreciated. My idea for the swap to 15hp was for more power and speed for hunting with a 14' modified V Jon boat. I hunt large lakes and sometimes I need to get off fast. With decoys, guns, shells, dog, etc the 9.9 is a might limited so now I see it wont get me much more to spend the money on an upgrade. A 20hp might be the answer, but there alot heavier. Thanks again for the information."

"Yes - like I said my tests ar