Logo

Is it Okay to Lift the Boat by the Shift Rod?

jasonWA

Hi folks... New to the forum and to boating. It's going to be evident:

I've got a new to me 18ft Bayliner with an '89 100HP Evinrude E100STLCEM. Running it in the driveway I noted a leaky base gasket, so I decided to replace it. I thought I had everything out of the way when I started to lift the powerhead, but in fact I'd failed to unhook the shift rod. In fairness, it's buried pretty deep in there. I've never used this engine hoist before either, but it felt like I was lifting harder than I should need to, when I realized I was lifting the back of the boat off of the trailer. Set it back down... regroup... figure out how to unhook the shift rod... lifts off much more easily. I wonder to myself how much havoc I could have caused at the other end of that rod. It's probably not meant to be used as a lifting point :)

I put everything back together and put the boat in the water and find that I can't get it in forward gear. If I disconnect the cable, I can do it by hand. The thumbwheel / trunnion / cable adjustment was already adjusted all the way forward when I got the boat. Before I worked on it it seemed to shift okay, but not anymore. As a quick fix, I pulled the trunnion out of the cradle and wrapped some electrical tape around the cable assembly to the rear of the trunnion where I needed it to grab in order to get it into forward gear (made the cable "shorter'). It shifts fine now, but that's a hillbilly fix if ever I saw one.

Here's how it looked before I started working on it:

20180722_112954_small.jpg

As you can hopefully see, the cable adjustment is all the way forward, and the shift lever is at about 30 degrees forward of vertical. The previous owner said he'd recently replaced the lower unit, so I'm suspicious that the shift rod adjustment was wrong to begin with and I made it worse by pulling on it. So, my two questions: