Logo

Hi everyone,

Peterpd99

I'm new to boating and will have lots of questions, and so glad to find this forum.
i'd recently acquired a 1973 4hp evinrude lightwin.
First question, how and where can I add grease so that I can more easily steer, because now it feels a bit too stiff.

Peter

The thing to do is to remove the steering cable temporarily from the steering arm of the engine to see if it is actually the steering cable or the engine that needs work.

If the cable, it's best to remove the cable from the engine, then clean it thoroughly until it frees up, and grease it before re-installing it.

Haha...I was wondering too.
id seen some motors have grease points/holes where you unscrew then pump grease into it until it oozes out?
but I can't figure out where or does it actually have that on my motor.

You have got a friction pad and adjustment on the steering tube underneath the power head. Check that out. Go to shop.evinrude.com and look up a parts break down of your motor.

You have got a friction pad and adjustment on the steering tube underneath the power head. Check that out. Go to shop.evinrude.com and look up a parts break down of your motor.
You are right...I just checked the parts break down.
I knew that screw had something to do with it, however, I did that yesterday and it didn't make
much of a difference even when the screw was loose. Does that mean I have to take it apart or should just spray some waterproof grease in and around the part that turns?

Thanks!

Try some penetrating solvent in that area,try moving,repeat over & over.A little heat might improve your chances of freeing it up , Just keep fuel can away!