Logo

fuel line connection help pics

quint

Contributing Member
1991 VP 570. My fuel line connection coming out of the fuel water/filter to the fuel pump has a weeping leak. Not to the point where its spewing in the bilge but when I rub my fingers around the connection my fingers are covered in gasoline. See the pics below. Does anybody know the corrrect fix for this? Tightning the connection with wrenches or gas approved teflon tape or sealant? I've never worked on a fuel line system before but it seems like basic plumbing connections. By the way what is safe plug for rubber fuel line hose when I attempt to fix this..I remember my mechanic friend using a thin spark plug and the existing hose clamp.

Attachments

• gas-line.jpg
    gas-line.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 93
  • gas-line2.jpg
    gas-line2.jpg
    77.8 KB · Views: 109
Last edited:
I could be wrong, and i think everyone has there own preference, but i use Teflon paste on the two adapters going into the housing. if the weep is from the rubber fuel line it could be anything from loose clamp (there should be two clamps on a fuel line) to a bad hose, on the metal side it should be a steel flare fitting, it could be a crack in the flare from vibration or just a loose fitting, find where and trouble shoot from there, or start fro, scratch and remove/repair/replace all pieces.

If that is a flare nut screwed directly into the filter housing or is that a hose barb? It looks like a Barb. If that is a flared fuel line that was cut and a hose installed over it, you need to remove it and install a hose barb.

If it is a Barb, replace it. I use Teflon. Also, Inspect the housing for cracks.

Last edited:
the leak/weeping is from the all metal connection fitting in the back..coming out of the fuel water seperator closest to the engine block