Logo

1998 Yamaha VMAX 150 Electrical Issue?

Hey guys, I'm a newb, so please forgive me for this question. Great day on the water 2 weeks ago, boat running tip top, caught a bunch of fish. Put it back in storage at the end of the day. Got it out Sunday to go catch some crappie, dump it in the water, put the key in "accessory position" did not turn on power to the panel (which it usually does), turn it the rest of the way to start then electrical comes on and engine fires. Boat fires and runs, although it wants to be in gear immediately to stay running. Get out of the no wake zone, hit the throttle, won't get out of the hole. Just digs like theres too much weight in the boat or something. Turn the key like I'm starting the boat (while it is already running mind you), and it shoots up out of the hole and gets on plane and runs like a champ. The second you take your hand off the key in starting position, the power cuts to 50% of so and the boat gets off plane - engine still runs but with no real power (about 7mph). I figure must be something wrong with the accessory wire in the ignition wiring harness. Hopped on Amazon, bought a new ignition control box (704) for a Yamaha. Replaced it, same issue. Thoughts? Fuse? Relay/solenoid? The crappie are biting and I need to be back on the water!