Logo

1989 Johnson Tilt Tube Question

itsanss

I'm wanting to convert my 1989 Johnson 25HP from tiller steer to remote steer. I know that I need a tilt tube. Trying to figure out if all I need is the tube or if there is something more to it. I just don't see how the tube attaches to the motor.

Thanks

PS I would insert an imagine, but when I upload it, nothing happens.

Part number SA27055P

Thanks, that's very helpful.

Ok, I'm a total newb here... What I'm trying to accomplish is to convert from tiller to remote steer, like I said. So I'll need this transom bracket, a steering kit (was thinking SeaStar SS137), a steering wheel (was thinking about Amarine Destroyer 9310SRF1). I'm also wanting to convert to remote throttle/shift control (was thinking about UltraFlex Single Function Dual Lever Side Mount Control).

What I'm also needing to know is how to correctly measure for steering cable length...It's about two feet from where I want the steering wheel to side of boat, then about eight feet from side of boat to transom, and about two feet from side of boat to center of outboard motor. But I'm not sure where the transom steering mount goes exactly and I assume I will want to measure to that location rather than center of motor....unless mount goes near center of motor. Guess I also need to figure out proper lengths for the throttle and shift cables as well.

Also need to figure out what shift and throttle cables I will need that will both hook to the motor and also to the remote controls. I think I will need an additional bracket for the shift linkage....the motor has a spot where a bracket would mount to, but no bracket, of course. Looks like I will just need to drill a hole in the existing shift lever and put a mount in it to push/pull the lever with a cable.

Sorry for all the questions! But I'm excited to think about remotely controlling the motor!! Would make the boat so much more user-friendly! :cool: It's a 14' all aluminum Texas Maid Falcon.