Logo

water in cylinders

captjimjr

had heads and intake sent out to be checked after leaving sea choke closed for a time ( after alarm went off noticed port engine at 200 degrees) and finding water in all but #1 cylinder, they checked out good reinstalled ran for 20 mins. or so and died. now have water in right side cylinders, removed exhaust and held pressure what else am i missing

Hi, I would bet that your exhaust manifold log is leaking. I am looking for a exhaust log right now. My customer had heads done and intake inspected and tested. All put back together[not by me] engine ran but rough and got hot. Also was no more coolant in the resovior so he filled resovior he topped it off. i got the call 5hrs later and by then the engine would not turn over. I pulled plugs and all 8 had water/coolant. he used water to fill resovior becuz thats all he had. all 8 poured out water/coolant. Im a mechanic and have not seen ALL 8 filled like that. I pulled the exhaust manifolds off a few inches so I could see manifold ports and head exhaust ports. I filled resovior and coolant poured out off the exhaust manifold port side. btw closed cooling system. big crack in the manifold. you may have a crack that is openning when heat expands..thats my 2 cents

ps do a leakdown test. after rereading ur post. or disconnect hoses fom exhaust manifold logs and connect hoses with a coupling to create a loop for each side. run the engine for 5 mins only cuz the exhaust is gonna get real hot real fast. Then check for water in cyls. That way you have eliminated the exhaust as a possible cause of water intrusion.

ps do a leakdown test. after rereading ur post. or disconnect hoses fom exhaust manifold logs and connect hoses with a coupling to create a loop for each side. run the engine for 5 mins only cuz the exhaust is gonna get real hot real fast. Then check for water in cyls. That way you have eliminated the exhaust as a possible cause of water intrusion.