Logo

water coming out of motor

alilley

ok let me start of by saying that i am a newbie to boats as i just purchased my first (1988 sunchaser deck 1702 with a 3.0L and alpha 1)i bought it cheap enough knowing that it had "a cracked block" now i do know a little about motors as i a lot of my own maintance on my cars...got the boat home took a 55gal drum layed on its side cut a hot in it big enough got the outdrive to fit in filled with water hit the key after a few turns she fired up what i noticed next is my questions first of all i have water coming out from under the manifold:eek: and i dont mean a little you probally could fill a 5 gal bucked in no time what could it be??bad manifold? blown head gasket? blown manifold gasket? some one suggested water pump??any thought

when i hopped out of boat and looked at the out drive it had water oming down from somewhere hitting the outdrive but i went a head and shut it off shortly after that now it did not want to idel but if you gave just a little throtle would purr just fine and rev right on up i did check the oil in it first and noticed that it was still kind of carmel color but frothy looking so i am thinking that it has a little water in it hince the blown head gasket any thought and input would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance

cracked manifold, remove and inspect.Once removed you will be able to tell if the block is cracked wire open. heads dont usually crack.

i am hoping that it is just a manifold as i should be able to fix that. if it is the block that is cracked i had some one infor me that it caould be welded or braised back shut is this an option??

i am on the road right now and it might be the weekend before i get a chance to tear into it but i will defentally keep you posted as i find out what is going on and thanks again

Think of it as trying to fix a broken egg.Some have used JB Weld ,a epoxy type putty.Clean and "V" the area, clean with acetone, apply JB.