Logo

Volvo AQ165 Engine help

mell860930

I know that these engines are old and that the parts are scarce. I just got a boat that has dual aq165 with 250 outdrives. The motors burn/leak oil. I believe that there is more oil "blow by" than actually burning of the oil. But since they have been overhauled or anything i figured this winter i might have that done. I know that from other inline six cylinder engines that they get oil blow by near the valve cover and wondering if this is the same in the volvo engines. If so any idea of what needs to be done and where parts can be gotten. I figured id give both engines a top end over haul but wondering hwere to get the parts or kits? any help or information would be awsome as i am new to this engine and to this forum!!!

I know that these engines are old and that the parts are scarce. I just got a boat that has dual aq165 with 250 outdrives. The motors burn/leak oil...................... I figured id give both engines a top end over haul but wondering hwere to get the parts or kits?
Cut your losses now, and try to find suitable replacement engines.

The center to center dimension will likely not permit V-8's.... so that may be out of the question... but I suppose you could check.

The OHC 4 may be a good option... but you'll loose some hp.
You'd need the F/C's, exhaust components and the 2.15:1 lower units.

The 6 cylinder ratio was 1.89:1..... and does not usually work for anything other than the 6 cylinder engine.

I am trying to not sink thousands into a repower like what you are talking about. They run fine now so i dont want to bag them at this point. Any engine that would bolt up in their spot without having to do crazy modifications?

I suppose the course of action would be:
1. leak down test all cylinders to determine where the issues are - whether it's mostly head/valve issues or piston rings.