Logo

Right track to installing electronic ignition

wet_wonder

Contributing Member
"Hi, I'd be grateful for

"Hi, I'd be grateful for help with electronic ignitions. I have a Trojan, with a mercruiser 233hp 351 with carb and distributor. Can anyone point me to a good match, with manufacturer and model. It looks pretty easy to install, but I'm new to this type of sytem and just don't know what model to get exactly for my engine.
Thanks."

"Yes, I looked at the pertroni

"Yes, I looked at the pertronix site but didn't know which electronic ignition would be right for my setup. The Mercruiser is a '77 351 233hp."

"well, if this is your engine,

"well, if this is your engine, you then need to know if your cap has screws holding it on or clips.

233 FORD 351 V-8 1975-1977
4173000 THRU 4902304

you have a prestolite distributor

All 8 233 From Serial 4173000 footnotes: 28, 58 Prestolite Ignitor# 1581 Ignitor II#91581

All 8 233 From Serial 4173000 footnotes: 27, 58 Prestolite Ignitor#1582 Ignitor II#91582

Footnote Info:
27 Screw down cap
28 Clip down cap

58 OMC; Stringer, Cobra and King Cobra applications with
Electronic Shift Assist may require slight wiring modification."

"Thanks very much Brian. Can&

"Thanks very much Brian. Can't learn w/o folks to learn from.
Yup, that's the motor. Serial number is 4337728. It's a screw down cap, so it's the Ignitor #1583 then? I'll have to call them to see what the wiring modification are."

"I looked up pertronix based o

"I looked up pertronix based on your info, and did find those part numbers. Is the Ignitor model or Ignitor II preferred?"

"Ignitor II is newer, Ignitor

"Ignitor II is newer, Ignitor III is newest, the wiring mod info comes with the package. and is available on their website, it has to do with the shift interupt circuit on OMC's.

you mean #1582 or #91582 right? I'd go with the Ignitor II and a Ignitor II Coil"

"Yes, 91582, and I emailed the