Logo

Repowering an 89 Chris Craft Scorpion

mechanix565

hey guys im new to boating but have been building hotrods for about 10 years so i have plenty of mechanical knowledge but im a little green on some of the fundamentals of boat drivetrains. also im not sure if im posting this in the right section forgive me if im not.

what i have is a 1989 Chris Craft Scorpion 190 (18.5 feet) the boat was produced with a Mercruiser 3.0v6 well the motor and drive are long since gone and i aquired the boat without either, what i do have is a 1989 fourwinns bow rider with a good merc 350 and alpha 1 drive the fourwinns is complete with everything but has a bad hull (hit a rock)

what do i need to do to get that merc 350 into the Chris craft, what needs tobe done with the motor mounts etc... i really like the idea of putting the v8 in the chris craft because its a reman merc 350 with 350hp so it should go pretty good and be very responsive. just not sure what needs to be done to get it in there. the boat came with an alpha 1 drive originally so im going to go off on a limb and guess that all the hydraulics will bolt right up for the drive and it was a gm motor originally so the power steeriing will also bolt right up. let me know guys im diving into this project head first and i wanna get this old girl back in the water soon.

Before going any further, check the manufacturer's plate on the boat and see what the maximum horsepower rating is. I usupect it is less than 350. If so, I would not atempt doing what you plan to do. Besides, in most states it is illegal to exceed the max power rating on a boat, and it will not be insurable. If max HP is 350 or better, your next concern is weight and weight distribution. Determine how much more weight is being added with the 350 and Alpha drive. If it is more than two hundred or so pounds, you may experience serious performance problems because it will be difficult to get the boat to plane and ride properly.