Logo

Older Merc 1150 motor issues

steven133080

Hi guys, I will be the first to admit that I am no master mechanic, but last year we put another motor on our boat. Its an old 1970 something Merc 1150 (115 hp) motor. Last summer it ran fine, and towards the end of August we ran the tank nearly dry, but not completely. Like a dummy, a couple weeks ago when I took it out for the first time this year( Waay too busy of a summer), I just put some new gas and oil in the tank , and took it out. I had started it a couple times in the driveway this spring with the anticipation of going out, but it didnt happen until recently. Anyways, motor starts up, idles good, put it in gear and it works fine up to about 7-8 mph. Anything past that on the throttle it seems to choke out the engine, and it dies. Any advice on what it could be without taking it in to a shop? I would think maybe dirty carbs, but I would think it would have a hard time starting and idling if that was the case. It will go all day long at 7-8 mph, but once you go past that on the throttle, it dies. Any ideas on what it may be or advice? Im not even sure if I can get parts for that old of a motor anymore can I?

Thanks for any ideas you guys may have.