Logo

Old Goat's Boat

I have a 1982 70 hp johnson with jet pump hanging on my 15 foot ski barge. The &%*) is driveing me crazy. Overhauled carb, swithed fuel tanks, renewed fuel pump, renewed on coil and three sets of plugs, renewed pump up bulb. (It was leaking) Compression good and even. ETC.

Problems range from the complete shut down of one cyl.( not always the same one) to a high speed miss. The last time out, it was missing as I tried to bring rpms up,but pumping the bulb helped me past that. Later that same day as I was tried to return to the dock, I had a steady miss, by choking each cly. individually I was able to determine which cyl was missing and eventually that cyl picked it's self up. (Pumping the bulb had no effect this time) I have cleaned, replaced, and cussed for hours try to make this engine run well every time, or at least have the problems remain the same long enough to determine just what is going on.

I am a mechanic of some 40 years experience so, this is particularly frustrating. Willing to listen.

i'm going to ask some "stupid" questions so just bear with me. you stated that pumping the bulb corrected the problem one time. that tells me that you have a fuel delivery problem. have you checked quick disconnect fitting.(i would bypass to eliminate) check or replace ALL fuel lines . a tiny pin hole could cause it to suck air.(happened to me this past weekend). have you changed filters ? as you know , be particularly careful about running it with a leaning condition . if none of this helps , i would go through fuel pump again then carbs. good luck