Logo

new Yamaha remote F20 ignores control box electrically

otterlake

I have a brand new Yamaha F20, a 20HP outboard boat motor, specifically the remote-only model (steering/throttle/shift).

I studied carefully everything and installed a center console, shift cable, throttle cable, and even managed to get that thick wiring cable's “wiring harness” plug thru the motor and plugged in and fastened.
I hooked up power to the motor (nice, oversized, new deep cycle battery, charged).

The 703 control box I have is brand new but admittedly a generic (not Yamaha, but a clone). I'm regretting that, but the odds are still overwhelmingly against it being defective, probability-wise. Still, maybe it is... but I wish I could troubleshoot whatever is going on electrically:

The mechanical stuff (cables, throttle movement, shifting, steering) all checks out fine, at least as far as a motor without power can display.

With it clicked nicely into Neutral on the control box:
Turning the key does nothing (no electric start).

I have the control box's safety lanyard properly applied; I've used them before (buy I wish that's all it was).

Here's where I was really slayed: with the gas line plugged in and the garden water hose on full (screwed into the flush assembly) I tried the black rubber Start button on the motor: also nothing.
So I got the bright idea to pull the start cord.

Oh, it started beautifully – but there was no way to shut it off!
The control box – turn the key off, pull out the key, pull the safety lanyard off the control box – all totally ignored while the motor kept running and running.

After I tested Forward, Reverse, Idle speed lever – all working fine...

...there appeard to be NO on-board kill switch (on the motor itself) like the tiller version.
I even unplugged the wiring harness/plug and it STILL kept running.

I finally yanked a spark plug cap as not to have to make it run out of gas.