Logo

new poster introduction twin 318 project

KMD

I would like to introduce myself, first time poster long time viewer. Please have patience with me I will be posting a ton of posts over the next couple months during my project. I have been working on boats since I was 5 with my dad first handing him tools then as an adult pretty much my whole life. I am not a professional in any means just a guy who loves working on boats and I would have to rate my experience a little above the average DIYer. I just purchased a 1988 28’ Marinette with twin 318’s in it that needs a ton of work. The boat has not been used in a few years one motor full of milky oil, other runs fine (450 hrs on it). I purchased a set of 1973/74 (forgot the exact year) fWC’d LM318 Chryslers from a gentleman who had them professionally rebuilt 10 years ago by a reputable marine engine company that has been in business for years, but he never installed them (boat got vandalized). The previous owner provided me with about 8k dollars in receipts (all new manifolds, engine rebuild receipts, etc…) of what he paid to have all the work done (of course I didn’t pay this since its been a 10 year lapse). They were kept in dry storage, fogging oil put in cylinders, motors hand turned a couple times a year with plugs out, etc….. He basically when the rebuild was done he went to the rebuilder, motors were started tuned, then the rebuilder fogged engines, winterized motors (drained all water from manifolds, antifreeze etc…) and the owner put them in his heated shop.
I have old motors removed from boat. And I am starting to work on getting motors ready for install.

This is what I am doing to the old/new motors I just bought prior to installation: