Logo

New here and need advice

jwatson355

Been working on my 4.3 volvo. Replaced fuel pump and carb. Still does not right and was looking into the ignition. I would like to make it a bit less complicated by switching to an HEI. Am I going to run into problems?

I have not but it makes sense that it's not working. I am not good with point style stuff. It's been since high school. It's a 1994 so I really don't know if it's points or not. The rotor will pull right off and it looks solid under it with 2 screws.

What is the actual problem? Please do not purchase anymore parts until we help you figure out what the problem is.

I appreciate that! The boat will start with just one pump of the throttle, then it just dies. It does this for a while until it warms up. Not too big of a deal so far. It will run smooth for maybe 10-15 seconds, then start running very rough and then smooth back out. When it's revved up with no load you can just tell it isn't revving right, lack of power and when it was on the water (for about 5 minutes) it took forever to plane out and wouldn't rev over 3800-4000rpms. Very weak. I just finished a compression test. 130-150 in all cylinders. The fuel filter/water separator, all the fuel lines, fuel pump and carb are new. Spark plugs and wires are new as well.

Before you purchase a distributor you may not need, Get a vacuum gauge, install a tee fitting in the fuel line between the tank and the filter. Run the engine and see if you are pulling an excessive vacuum on the fuel line.

Problem sounds like fuel.

Before you purchase a distributor you may not need, Get a vacuum gauge, install a tee fitting in the fuel line between the tank and the filter. Run the engine and see if you are pulling an excessive vacuum on the fuel line.

Problem sounds like fuel.