Logo

Need help! No spark on one cylinder.

BigNate

Howdy folks, newbie here, first post. I've purchased an old Skeeter with a 1979 Johnson 115 bored to 140. Motor ran so-so. I cleaned carbs and it ran much better but still only felt it was at 75percent of it's potential. I drained tank and gave it some new premix. Motor fell on its face on the water....brought it home and it idled fine both high and low rpm in a bucket. Then it started back firing out the exhaust. When at a low idle it would backfire and die.i pulled plugs and found a mess on the top starboard plug, all the others were ok. Changed plug, no difference. Bought new coil, didn't help. New power pack, didn't help, new stator and guess what???? Didn't help! So I've checked compression in all 4 and each one is 80.5 or 81. So I've got equal compression x4, good spark x3 and my hair is getting grayer by the minute.

Will the timing trigger cause no spark on just one cylinder? Suggestions PLEASE!!! IM ABOUT TO MISS THE BASS SPAWN!!!

How do you bore out a 115 HP to 140 HP , just curious.----Swap powerpacks from one side to the other and report what happens.----The term " Good compression " means nothing here.-----Post the actual numbers you have today.

Copied from the CDI Ignition troubleshooting guide for your motor: