Logo

Need help! No spark on 1967 20hp Mercury Outboard

blackal07

I have a beautiful 1967 Mercury 20 hp outboard on my 14' aluminum. Last spring I went to get it ready for the summer and couldn't get it started. I checked both plugs and was not getting any spark. The points seem to be in good condition so I am wondering what else I need to check. I am not very experienced with outboards but don't want to get rid of my grandpa's old mercury(good memories.) Any help would be much appreciated.

Very nice motor.-----Check out the stop switch first.--------I would say you have to clean the points and set them at 0.020"---------By " clean " we mean really clean as in no oil / dirt of any kind allowed on them.------That is the start for a " no money required fix " as far as I am concerned.

Very nice motor.-----Check out the stop switch first.--------I would say you have to clean the points and set them at 0.020"---------By " clean " we mean really clean as in no oil / dirt of any kind allowed on them.------That is the start for a " no money required fix " as far as I am concerned.

The stop switch has been broken for a long time. That being said I have used the motor countless times with the stop switch being broken..... I have the flywheel off and everything looks pretty clean. No rust or anything of the sort. I will clean the points and let you know. Thank you!

The stop switch grounds out the points to stop the motor !------If it is broken and the circuit is open the motor will run, no big deal there.

Great info. Thank you! The only mistake I have made is I have used starter fluid in the past. That being said I will never use again. I will see if I can get some pictures once I get the flywheel pulled off. And yes I changed the gear oil not to long ago. I will keep you posted.

Thanks again