Logo

Mice got in the motor

Rusty Wrench

Hello All- First post :)

The motor is 78 Evinrude 85hp w tilt trim.

It's been 20 years or so since I built the Glen L Hunky Dory. 12 years ago I became consumed with elder care issues. I put the boat under cover and never so much as looked at it until now.

Under the motor cover was the most god-awful mess you could imagine. I vacuumed out nesting material and acorns. There are pockets of mouse urine/feces in every corner, recess and surface. I have the factory service manual and have started to remove some components to start cleaning. I am an ok mechanic but hope to dissemble as little as possible.

A few questions
1) I'm unable to post photos (Oops!- we ran into problems message). Is this a first post thing? They're jpeg 3.5 to 6 KB. The mess is almost indescribable.

2) Would it be safe to spray cleaner and hose pressure wash the motor and components under the hood- blocking the intakes of course.

3) No question there is a mass of waste, probably even wet waste, in the deepest recesses. Could that migrate down into the lower unit? Is it advisable to remove the power head.

I'm just getting started. Thanks for any advice.

btw- I had fogged the motor prior to storage. Flywheel does turn- or least it's not locked. And the mice did not chew any wiring that I've seen yet.

Power wash it. I do that to all the motors I buy. Don't take the power head off unless absolutely necessary. If the motor was used in salt water you probably won't be able to get the power head off without breaking bolts and destroying stuff. I would remove the carb and check it out. Lower unit should be good but watch out for wasp nests and mud dabbers. Good luck.

Did you actually mean your photos were 3.5-6 mb? I don’t know any cameras that take photos at 6kb.
if so, resize them to under 1mb.
There might be a gate where you need 6 posts before adding photos. Just add a few posts to get your count up a bit.