Logo

Mercury 25hp missing

"I just bought a merc 25hp 198

"I just bought a merc 25hp 1985, with a miss and rough idle. I went thru the fuel systems with a new carb kit and fuel pump. Still the same.New plugs and checked the coils with an ohm meter and they show no problems. Is there a way to check the switchbox or anything else? Seems to be missing on one cylinder but I dont know where to turn next. I just cant afford to replace parts to find the problem. Thank you."

"More info,,,,
Seriel number

"More info,,,,
Seriel number 6621542 25XD compression is stable at 120psi top and bottom. It maybe a 1986? Thanks for your help. This is my first try at a Merc. Most of my experience is with OMC."

You could put a timing light o

You could put a timing light on each plug wire and watch the strobe for the miss.

And to look for a case leak use a plumbers torch (off) to wave around the case looking for a leak

"If it does this only at idle,

"If it does this only at idle, you might try opeing the idle mixture screw a 1/4 turn.

Jeff"

"It shakes at idle and seems t

"It shakes at idle and seems to bog at higher rpms. Using a torch, how would this find a leak in the case halves? Does the gas make the motor run differently? I am not sure I understand how this trick works. Thanks again"

"Jeff is right, I assumed you

"Jeff is right, I assumed you would have the carb set or tried adjusting it if you went through it. Your engine has all the indications of running lean and fuel starvation. Try pumping the bulb while running and see if it helps. Try opening the idle mixture screw as Jeff said. Be 100% sure the float and main jet in the carb is set and clean.

The propane when waved in front of the carb will cause the engine to change rpm, when waved in front of the case it will do the same if there is a leak. After reading your problem at all rpms I would look at the fuel system closer."

"Joe, I am no pro and the guy