Logo

Mercruiser 470 Overheating

PowerBoat007

Hello Fellow Boaters,

I am new to this forum, but it looks like a lot of you guys out there are very knowledgeable and can help me (I am new to powerboating).

My wife and I recently purchased a 28.55' Bayliner Express Cruiser, and it came with twin 470 Merc's. The seller advertised it as "one engine working and one engine not" which happens to be correct.

However the engine on the left side of the boat,which appears to be attached to the Hot Water heater (the "working engine") overheats almost immediately after starting it.

I replaced the coolant, but no luck. On a sidenote, our water heater works great, and I was thinking that since it is plumbed to the water heater (which by the way has very hot water in it right now) might be causing part of the overheating problem.

Also, the non working engine was advertised as having been overheated at some point and that is the cause for it not working (won't even crank).

Anyone have any tips as to whether I should try to get these running as in "simple fix" or should I just get new engines?

What are recommended replacements for this type engine (preferably to increase the horsepower in so doing).

Thank you!

hot engine:
replace impeller in drive, inspect power steering cooler for clogs, inspect/replace riser(clogged)
non working engine:
pull spark plugs and try to turn over,if anything does come out , pull the heads for inspection.

Ok...I am not really a mechanic, but I am downloading a Merc 470 manual. I assume the riser is the high part above the engine where the exhaust goes through?

There is a cylinder shaped object along the side as well, which I am assuming is the exchanger. Should I check that as well?

Also, if I want to back flush my raw water which hose do I flush from?

Thanks so much Bt!

The riser is the part that aslo has the radiator cap. It`s a split setup.
The power steering cooler(if equipped) is about 4-5 inches long and 2 1/ in dia.