Logo

Looking for help with ,92 Evinrude 15 - compression, head, rings, overheating etc. was seized

SeaPair

Hi all, this is another one of my "longer" posts...so i have made the key items in bold for you to quickly browse through the important stuff, I hope that makes it easier but just not sure.

Anyway I need some advice on a recently un-froze Evinrude 15 that ran good but overheats and has head issues.

I was recently given a seized up Evinrude 15 that had sat for many years, not sure if it froze from sitting or overheating..but sitting is my guess now.
All I was told about it was that it overheats and is junk..I have no idea the experience level of the person who gave it o me and actually never met the owner. That being said I have no experience at all with internal workings of motors and have no history on this motor so I have to figure it out on my own.

I had to take the head off to get it free'ed up and when I went to put it back on I noticed the last person had installed two head gaskets.
Once I got the cylinders and pistons cleaned out the best I could I decided to put the head back on with one gasket..test the compression and the put both gaskets on and test the compression.

Here are the compression results:
First and foremost..one of the center head bolts (in between the two cylinders) is stripped out and will just spin.
I torqued the rest of them down to spec for one gasket (20 foot pounds)
1 Gasket = 40 top, 50 bottom
2 Gaskets = 80 top, 90 bottom

Both held pressure.

It took me quite a while to clean everything up..tore apart fuel pump to clean it all out, cleaned all grounds, took off carb and cleaned it all out.
But after doing all of that I got it started...man my arms were / are sore form how many pulls I had to do but a lot of that was because I didn't know there was a 'start" position on the tiller handle.

It sounded pretty good to me and I ran it for maybe a minute on muffs while shifting it and checking the rich / lean knob.