Logo

little Johnny is not feeling good,motor issues

Motor is an 87 johnson 30elcoa.
Syptoms:won't stay running under load.
Diagnosed a leaking a choke relay,crack in nipple that holds gas line,replaced gasket and cover,still sick:confused:
Lets try carbs:clean,needle seat a little worn out,nurse get me a carb rebuild kit:kit installed,rebuilt,:confused:,still sick,.
Lets check heart rate,both cylinder pushing around 118,good there is still hope::rolleyes:Spark is strong like bull!!!:)
Seeing as how I am not really a doctor and only stayed at a holiday inn,just once,I am now asking for help on this site,tried another site,no luck.What are my next steps into diagnosing little Johnnys ailment,I am a carpenter,and don't want to fix it with a hammer:D.Is it possibly a timing issue,if it is can someone post how to check the timing ,and whatever I might need to buy aimlessly.Tired of watching the algae grow on the pontoons:facepalm:

Is the red lever on the primer injector ( choke ) in the correct position ?--------Is the arm on the port side that goes to the carburetor adjusted properly ?-Many people adjust that because when it is correct it " looks wrong " to a novice.----Ignition timing is adjusted at the factory and generally does not need adjusting for the life of the motor !!---------The flywheel key needs to be checked as that can throw out the timing.

Model #30elcoa is a 1985 30hp model, not a 1987.

Hold off with the stand up comic routine (no offense intended) as that just deters away from the engine problems.

What is the compression reading of each cylinder? With the spark plugs still removed, check to see if the spark will jump a 7/16" gap with a strong blue lightning like flame... a real SNAP! The 7/16" gap is important! Note that checking spark with the spark plugs is a waste of time.

Has anyone had the flywheel off and DID NOT torque the flywheel nut to factory specs upon re-installing?