Logo

Ignition problems on a 1985 85hp Johnson

dnstommy

"I am new to outboards, but ha

"I am new to outboards, but have been building car engines for 15 years now. I am trying to diagnose a condition I have right now where I do not get spark on an plugs. It is a v4. I have been told that the issue may be a dead CPI? or Powerpack. (all the coils and sensor wires are wired into it) How can I diag the CPI? My first thought is when I turn the key off, what does that kill? I would liek to check there first and make sure I have 12 volts / ground there.

Thanks for any help anyone can be.

Chris Auer
Sarasota Fl."

"There's a large harness c

"There's a large harness connector under the engine cover. Disconnect that. Then use jumper cables to turn the engine over directly to the starter. If you now have spark you have a bad ignition swith, bad kill switch, or a wiring issue."

"I will try that, but I dont h

"I will try that, but I dont have a problem getting it to crank, I have no spark. I was wondering how to check for power @ the CPI to diag if the SPI is dead. Looking online the CPI is only $100, so maybe just replacing it isn't too bad."

"Chris.... You are misreading

"Chris.... You are misreading Sleeper's reply. Sleeper is telling you to disconnect that large RED electrical plug to eliminate the instrument wiring harness, the ignition switch etc, not to check a cranking problem.

However, with that red plug disconnected, you Cannot crank the engine via the ignition switch, therefore you need to crank the engine by jumping the starter solenoid. Do this with the spark plugs out/removed!

Now, when cranking via jumping the starter solenoid, you find that you have spark, but do not when the RED plug is connected, in all probability the ignition switch is shorted. If this is the case, replace the switch."

"Thanks for the update. Did as