Logo

Honda four stroke, 8hp outboard (BF8D) red-light continuous single beep issue

scw

Hi,

I recently purchased a second hand (2005) BF8D Honda four stroke, 8hp outboard for my sail boat. It has sat dry stored an unused since July 2019 after having a big expensive service where everything was done. It started first time when I got it, sounds great and looks very clean and tidy inside and out, oil also topped up and looks clean. I am no mechanic by the way but learning fast as I have had to some minor adjustments.

So, I put the engine on my boat for the first-time last week and ran the engine to get the boat to its mooring, literally a 15 minute motor from where we launched, what I hadn’t noticed was there was no water coming from the tell-tail pipe. Just as we got to the mooring the engine cut out, managed to get the boat moored, started the engine and it started but stalled shortly after. After realising the water cooling wasn’t working, I quickly found a blockage in the water pipe cleaned that out and now the water flow is fine.

I had to move the location of the Honda control box that controls the engine and now after 5 minutes of running in neutral a red light comes on and a continuous beep, the light indicates overheating! I turned the engine off straight away. I continue to have this problem and could really do with some advice. Of course anything sat for nearly two years is going to get a bit of dirt in it and things have probably got a little stiff/stuck. I am comfortable taking the cover off and having a play around and just wondered if there may be some simple things that I might be able to do.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Hi,

It sounds to me as if the engine's THERMOSTAT may not be fully opening or possibly not opening at all.

Since it's a "new to you" outboard, I recommend that you not screw around trying to test it but to replace it using a new seal. See the link below. Items 5,6,7 and 13.