Logo

honda BFP9.9D no spark at times

cricket14465

Hay you all, I am new to outboards but most of my life in auto repair anyway I have this honda fp9.9d i believe 2001 it will start and run and then after say a minute or 2 will sputter and die . tried keeping it running on propane but found it was losing spark checked and cleaned various connections to no avail, the other thing i noticed was no water output from pisser hose, so i am wondering if engine is overheating and shutting down spark ?? I didnt have it running very long, do these engine get hot fast with no water?? did pull off pump and found it bad,ordered new part and will try again later this week

Well, we'll see what happens.

They do get hot quick with no water flow and, yes, there is engine protection built into the CDI module.

Please keep us informed about your progress.

Yes heat could be the issue. But also possible there are 2 problems. First the simple one of no water coming out may just need a new water pump spinner in the lower 1/2 of the motor. The 2nd problem may be the heat is effecting the exciter coil and you will need a DVA and muli-meter to determine if voltage from the coil is still viable.

Overheating for sure, engine guardian kicking in.Carry out a full cooling system service including internal anodes