Logo

Honda BF 135 fuel problem.New member, need HELP HELP NOW!

fiddlebick

In two days we have a lake vacation planned with my two adult children and the grandkids. A very rare and special time for me and years overdue. My pontoon with a Honda BF135 (2004) developed a fuel problem yesterday. Coughed and died a few minutes after powering up following a swim session on the lake. I pumped the primer bulb till it was tight with pressure and it started right up and ran fine till I shut it off again to swim some more. Same thing, 5 minutes or so after the restart it died again..pump the bulb and were off again, but its late in the day and we were heading for the trailer anyway. It starved for fuel, seemingly loosing prime. My quick and easy will be to replace the primer bulb and would appreciate any recommendations on the best product for that, along with any other advice. I am an industrial mechanic, so I'm familiar with the wrenches, but very much a novice with outboards, other than some sort of external, simple parts replacement, or simple owner maintenance.

Are you using portable fuel tanks, or do you have a built in tank. In either case, open up the filler cap the next time it happens - you may simply have a blocked breather vent.

I can't work on it today due to being out of town for medical appointments, but I will do the easy checks tomorrow, vent, pickup screen, and yes its a built in tank. Any thoughts on it being a collapsed or clogged fuel line from the tank? Just wonder how common of a problem that is.

Could be collapsing hoses, however, you said....once you squeezed the bulb the engine ran ok. Normally, a collapsed hose will cause trouble once you try to run the engine at higher speeds.