Logo

Evinrude 4HP problems

davejp

"Hi all, firstly, i am a compl

"Hi all, firstly, i am a complete novice when it comes to boating, Having only just decided to get out on the water (or so i hoped)

I have , as mentioned in subject, a 4HP evinrude (s/n: 48B36E B62774) whether this is model number and serial number i dont know and it tends to pick and choose when it will start and run.

on a cold start, i usually, as expected, have to choke it and it will start (sometimes) and run fine for a few minutes and then the revs will fall until it stalls.

once it has stalled, i would have to pull the rope a few times to sort of prime it and then it MAY start and run for a little while again.

when it starts losing revs, i can get away with opening the throttle a bit to keep her running, but not always sucessfully.

I have replaced fuel line and filter and cleaned float chamber as well as spark plugs which have a good spark on them.

I am dreading having to clean the carbs as i wouldnt know where to start basically and i cannot find a manual for this engine due to not having a model number.

Any ideas anyone?

If possible, would anyone be able to tell me what model it is by the serial number?

Thanks in advance!

Dave"

"48B36E B62774

The first se

"48B36E B62774

The first set of digits would be the model number, with the remaining digits being the serial number.

However, there is no 48836E or possibly 48B36E that I can find. Could that model number possibly be simply 4836? The "E" is simply a factory run number of no consequence.

If so, model 4836 is a 1978 4hp Evinrude.

I'd suggest (if compression and spark is okay) to replace the water pump, and to remove, clean, and rebuild the carburetor.

If the engine has a built in tank, check the fuel filter that is usually screwed into the bottom of it. More thsn likely though, the engine has a fuel pump and a separate fuel tank.