Logo

evinrude 1984 75hp no power and 2 stroke pouring from carb cover

irishjohn

hi to all
i have a 1984 75hp evinrude and it started to run slow when in the water , it would not get up to any speed and sometimes would give a little "jump" as trying to go. Brought it home poped it in a barrel and ran it, loads of 2 stroke floating in it after a min. Removed the carb cover and loads of 2 stroke poured out, the middle carb is slightly rusted/marked on the "flaps" that open and close when the trrottle is opened and the 2 stroke appears to be coming from here. Any ideas what could be the cause ??
compression test to be done next week but all help welcome.
sorry for all the non technical words for the parts but im no mechanic !!

cheers haffiman, what do i need to do a carb rebuild ?my brother in law is a fairly competent car mechanic and he could do this no problem if you could point me to what i need.??

could it be anything else ? like no spark on the plug ? or no output from the coil ? or is it stuck needle valve end of story ??

Sounds like a stuck needle valve on that carburetor float.-----------------Check it on all 3 carburetors ------------No special tools , skills or parts required to correct this.

cheers racerone, what do i look for and where ? how do i free it ?
total novice here but irelands in that big of a financial mess i haven't got the money to go to a repair shop and pay a fortune to get it done

You need 3 carb kits and gaskets.
Throw in an original OEM workshop manual to get the engine adjustment and synch correct at the same time.
You may get it all from this site.

OOOUPS.
Just noticed you are located in Ireland, and Marine Engine does not send parts internationally. They do however seem to send the workshop manuals.
If you got a local Sierra dealer, he might help you with parts unless you have a good Johnson/Evinrude dealer close.

cheers haffiman