Logo

engine stalling

will1982

I was a bit confusing with my last post. I apologize I'm new to boating. I know very little. My issue is my engine will run great until I stop to fish and try to start up again. It will sputter and will not start unless it sits for 20 mins or so. After that when finally do get it running it wants to die unless I run it at higher rpm. I have tried adjusting the air vent screw and makes no diff. It is a 2002 nissan 4 hp 4 stroke I bought used. Any suggestions where I should start without taking it to the shop right away. Money issues.

You might look real close at the fuel line too, mine was cracked and "sucking air" 6 months after I got the new motor.

When I did my carb, I took phone pics of the carb's guts and linkage, I also made little etchings where things went as I took it apart. You will need a real small needle to poke the laquer out of the jets.

Do you have a barrel to set the motor in for a test run?

Ethanol is real bad for boat motors, don't waste your money on the red stabilizer and don't use fuel more than a month old.

Paul will be on soon I am sure, he is one of the best that posts reqularly.