Logo

Engine slowing down at higher speeds

djadds

I have what I believe to be an engine with a recurring 'limp mode' condition.
After replacing the plugs, impeller, fuel filter and other maintenance items, the problem went away for several outings on the boat. Then, it happened again last weekend, while going across the lake. I arrived at my destination across the lake, stayed for a few hours, then returned back, resuming higher speeds for a significant duration, without a hitch. It doesn't sound like the impeller failing, defaulting to the limp mode on a consistent basis. Any ideas???

I am no expert by any means but I am currently working on an 02 125, and I don't believe those motors have a 'limp home' mode. Good luck, I know I am struggling with mine

Yes, no limp mode.

Could also be an ignition issue, but try the fuel trick first. A fuel pump rebuild is 1/10th the cost of most of the ignition parts...

But if you are simply looking for a list, my "guess" would be a bad stator. Specifically an issue with the high speed bobbins (which are integral to the whole stator)...

Yes, no limp mode.

Could also be an ignition issue, but try the fuel trick first. A fuel pump rebuild is 1/10th the cost of most of the ignition parts...

But if you are simply looking for a list, my "guess" would be a bad stator. Specifically an issue with the high speed bobbins (which are integral to the whole stator)...

OK, I'm not that astute when it comes to outboard motors, though I have noticed that they should be fairly easy to work on. I'm fairly comfortable with DIY if I'm competent to do it. I've done some minor maintenance work to date.

Are there videos or some sort of diagnostic guidelines that will allow me to trouble-shoot/repair/replace:
--fuel pump
--stator (whatever/wherever that is-sounds like some part of an electric motor!)

I have to keep in mind that this a 13 year-old motor and that a number of items may need repairing/replacing.