Logo

Engine alignment question

805HD

Regular Contributor
Hey guys, so I'm starting to put the boat back together and just got my alignment tool in the mail. It fits and seems to be seating all the way down into the coupler. It's not hard to get it in or pull it out. But I can't for the life of me get any witness marks to show up in the grease.

Any ideas?

Here is the tools dimensional specifications.

Measure it to be sure.

Mainly the area that goes into the coupler.

Here is the tools dimensional specifications.

Measure it to be sure.

Mainly the area that goes into the coupler.

Thank you, I just checked with calipers and its on the money..

This is what I am seeing after removing it

The alignment tool slides in and pulls out with just a little effort, seems to seat all the way with no play or anything that seems off. That being said, I have never done this before lol.

perhaps related to my older 260 out drive?

The true test is if the drive will install just as easily as the alignment bar, no kicking or cursing necessary

I had to kick a couple due to the o-rings on the shaft causing a tight fit............think they went to slightly fatter o-rings..........Oh these are Sierra gasket kits.......lol

Thank you, I just checked with calipers and its on the money..

This is what I am seeing after removing it

The alignment tool slides in and pulls out with just a little effort, seems to seat all the way with no play or anything that seems off. That being said, I have never done this before lol.

perhaps related to my older 260 out drive?

Put more grease on the end and see if that helps with the visual........
Like Chris said maybe the coupler is worn... Tough to tell from the outside....................if all works well just be conscious that the coupler may not last.

Either it is not going into the splines or your coupler has no splines left in it.

First..... you only need to apply grease to the very end that enters into the drive coupler splines.