Logo

cylinder head corrosion

Ash123

[FONT=&quot]Hi guys, bit of a novice here from Melb Australia. Have had this 1975 Evinrude 50 running quite well for a few years but rebuilt the carbs with new kit and replaced cylinder head gasket . Ran well for a while but noticed it bogged down when I tried to go full throttle . I have stripped it down and noticed corossion between the two cylinders . I'm not sure if it was there before? I think there was a bit of a hole but the salt water seems to have made I worse. Can anybody advise me what to do? I had a feeling I may not have retorqued the cylinder head bolts after running it and that's why the loss of power ? As I said , I'm mechanically minded but new to outboards. I've attached some pics , Any advice would be great! Thanks in advance , Ash[/FONT]

Attachments

• thumbnail_20210123_162204.jpg
    thumbnail_20210123_162204.jpg
    315.5 KB · Views: 69
  • thumbnail_20210123_162207.jpg
    thumbnail_20210123_162207.jpg
    262.2 KB · Views: 72
  • thumbnail_20210123_162210.jpg
    thumbnail_20210123_162210.jpg
    247.8 KB · Views: 64
  • thumbnail_20210123_162222.jpg
    thumbnail_20210123_162222.jpg
    279.4 KB · Views: 50
  • thumbnail_20210123_162227.jpg
    thumbnail_20210123_162227.jpg
    270.1 KB · Views: 48
  • thumbnail_20210123_162240.jpg
    thumbnail_20210123_162240.jpg
    264.2 KB · Views: 40
You could take it to a mahine shop they will tell ya if its too far gone or not, do the bores look good is it worth spending money on is what would be going through my mind,if the heads like that whats the rest of it like,food for thought,cheers