Logo

Carb help.

IUOE

Let me start by saying I'm very new at tinkering with outboards, so bear with me, but I'm committed to learning how to repair these myself rather than trying to find someone who will.
I've acquired a 1987 Mariner 9.9 that needs some carb/fuel pump work (i think) and I need help Identifying which carb I have.

I'm suspicious of the carb/fuel pump for 2 reasons so here's a little background.

First, the motor will generally idle fine for about a 5-10 minute stretch but will quickly die if you advance the throttle for more than 10-15 seconds. I can keep it running by rapidly pressing the little primer button that's on the right side of the carb or by manually spraying fuel into the throat.

Second, this motor ran just fine last fall when i bought it although I only ran it in my test barrel before I stored it away on the garage floor for the winter. I ran it for at least 30 minutes at varying RPM's with absolutely zero issues.

My goal:
I'd like to rebuild the fuel pump, carb and primer button thing all at the same time but I don't know how to properly identify these parts in order to obtain the correct rebuild kits.

Can anyone shine any light on this for me?

1987 Mariner 9.9
Serial # 0B192367

Do you have a service manual ? if not get one......... I think it needs a good carb cleaning, sounds like it's having trouble transitioning from slow speed circuit to main.......

I have purchased a manual for it that I'll use to walk me through the rebuilding steps and I have finally located the carb model number stamped in the side WMC 17A. Now for the hard part of finding the proper rebuild kit. I'm a little confused because they offer two choices on some items like the main fuel jet (.056 and .052) both listed for the 9.9 so how do I know which one to get? Or better yet, Is there a total rebuild kit i can get that will have all the parts I need in the correct size?