Logo

Buyer/Seller Purchase/Sales moral questions

RicardoMarine

Gold Medal Contributor
I think that this is my first time at starting a new thread, and since ME.com apparently does not have a General Section, Dock Talk or Chit Chat section, I'm not sure which section would best serve this thread..... so here it is.
OK, this is rather delicate... so bare with me.

I'm debating as to how involved I want to be in helping a boat purchaser with a seller issue.
Not as a liaison between parties....., but in posting this in hopes of comments.

The buyer purchased a boat from an alleged friend and fellow yacht club member.
Both parties are respected members of the Yacht Club... the seller being a more long time member.

Now... the buyer did what we all warn against.... they did not have the boat surveyed, and placed their trust in the seller.
Caveat Emptor..... strike one, and they know this.

Now, the seller, who was a friend and yacht club member, assured them that everything he described was up to snuff.
The seller even suggested that a recent $8k had been spent on drive maintenance and/or repairs.
They did a sea trial that was not quite as successful as it may have been....., but again the seller assure them that all was OK.

The purchase took place.

The buyer then discovered that extensive repairs were in order.
The drive suspension fork was broken, and the drive was literally just hanging there.
Repairs to the boat were indeed extensive.... including a compete transom shield, Intermediate housing and DP out drive replacement (complete transmission and lower gears/bearings), and several other items that I won't go into.
Total cost was approx $7k +.
This was an unexpected cost to the buyer..... but they moved forward with the repairs in order to have a working boat.

The related damage and repair costs "in detail" have been mentioned to the seller.

Fast forward to today, and to a trailer balance of $xxxx that is still owed.