Logo

Bf5A won't consistent go in gear

Mrwawa

Hi all,

I have a 2002 BF5A. Last night, when I started the motor and tried to engage in forward, the gear stayed in neutral. It took several attempts to engage. I have only owned the motor for a few months and it has always engaged, but with a heavy "clunk" that shakes the engine. On the way back into the marina, the same thing happened when I started the motor.

I have looked at the parts manual, but not sure where to start in terms of diagnostics. Any help would be appreciated. Needless to say, I am new to working on engines.

First, I have to say I haven't worked on this one so, hopefully hondadude will step in at some point with the "gospel".
However he is probably UBER busy so I thought I would give you a go and see if we can't get you going in the meantime.

In the parts link below, items 3 and 4 make up a sort of clamp that holds the upper shift rod to the lower shift rod. The two pieces are screwed together with a bolt that is held in place with a locking washer (items 25 & 31). It is possible that the bolt has loosened and the two shift shafts are no longer being held in the proper relation to each other.

You should be able to access that bolt and the clamp by looking at the front of the extension case just below the bottom of the lower swivel bracket.

In the parts link near the items I've already indicated is a sort of "box" labeled "1" containing several parts labeled 29, 30, 34, 7, 2, 6, and 35. Those are all parts that are internal to the gear box. All the parts above are external and "somewhat" accessible.

Anyway, take a look at that area and see if you can determine if the bolt and clamps are in place and tight. Then get back with your findings. It may be something simple like that but if that's not it....there are some items up in the power head that may need to be looked at BEFORE assuming anything is wrong with the transmission.