Logo

89 200XP Charging Question

"I just bought my Javelin with

"I just bought my Javelin with an 1989 200XP Evinrude. When running full throttle, I notice that the voltage gauge is reading 18 volts. At part throttle to idle, it reads 14 volts. I asked the individual I bought the boat from about this problem. He claims that it is normal. Is it?? I'm thinking the voltage regulator has a problem.

Also, the Tach stopped working the weekend I picked the boat up. Could this problem be related to high voltage?? I know the tach is driven off the alternator poles. Where do I start for the tach diagnoses? I am a fairly knowledgeable mechanic and have my multi-meter ready. Just point me in the right direction!!

Thanks in advance for any help!!"

"Mark, You should pick up a m

"Mark, You should pick up a manual for that motor. This site has pretty good prices for the OEM Service Manual.

If you '89 is like my '98 150 Johnson, the water cooled voltage regulator/rectifier drives the tach, using the grey wire. I would check the voltage on the purple wire (key on, motor not running) at the rectifier. If it is less than battery voltage, it may cause your charging system to overcharge, hence the 18V you saw. If you do see low voltage on the purple wire, see if you can find where the voltage drop is. Check the connectors on the motor and under the dashboard. Also check the VRO connector and disconnect and recheck the voltage."

"(Testing Tachometer With

"(Testing Tachometer With Water Cooled Regulator/Rectifier)
(J. Reeves)

A quick check is to simply plug in a another new tachometer as a piece of test equipment. If the new tach works properly and the old tach didn't, obviously the old tach is faulty.... but usually boaters don't carry around a spare tach (see below).