Logo

85593E 1975 85hp Should start wont start

Tank62

Okay, I pulled this fossil out of some farmer's barn & have been attempting to ressurect it. Fresh wire & external parts, carbs are clean with new gaskets, compression is good, gaps on spark plugs were checked, boots have spark jump.
Muffs were on, fuel line primed, power supply charged, on key turn the flywheel turns but I've got no combustion, just a starter motor spinning a flywheel by itself. Im no mechanic, just some guy with a wrench, a multimodel manual that seems kinda vague on some details, & access to the internet. Please assume I know nothing & keep to actual terms I can comprehend, lotta acronyms & stuff I dont know. Thanks in advance for whatever guidance you can provide. I'd like to finish this myself but I know when Im out of my depth knowledge wise, might be seeking a mechanic before long.

First thing to do is test your spark. It should jump a 7/16 gap. Use a spark tester with a moveable gap, not just holding the plug against the motor.
These old motors have to be turning over at more than 300 rpm before they will generate spark.

I know I have spark jump, that I've seen albeit without a spark tester, Im gonna have to look into one. I know video frames per sec may simply not be up to snuff, but watching videos on youtube I couldnt help but think their initial rotation of the flywheel seemed much faster. I'm wondering, maybe my starter motor isn't proper. I thought the one it came with was a tad slow & possibly bad but the one I ordered turned at about the same speed 🤔. Makes me wonder if while the site may claim its a suitable replacement that perhaps it isn't 🤔

If you have spark, and you're confident about your fuel supply, you may want to look at timing. If you don't have a timing light, you could start by pulling the flywheel to make sure the crank woodruff key isn't sheared.