Logo

74 Evinrude questions

FishingJohn

Good day all,

I recently purchased a boat with an older Evinrude on it and I have very little knowledge about outboards and have a few questions and surely more in the future so please forgive my pure ignorance if I ask a "duh" question.

Motor is a 1974 Evinrude 70442M 70hp with a jet drive.

First off the throttle controls are backwards as in reverse goes forward and when trying to go reverse the motor dies. Runs perfectly fine forward at low speeds and WOT but putting in reverse "forward" kills the motor. With this being a jet drive I'm wondering if it's supposed to do that? Do these old jet drives even have reverse? Just wondering if this is a feature and not a bug.

As far as the controls being backwards after researching for hours I've found that I guess on older motors some of them are supposed to be like that? As in for many years it was normal for boats to pull back for more throttle and push forward for less/reverse. Again just wondering if this is a bug or a feature.

Also the electric choke doesn't work so in order to get it started I have to remove the cover and manually choke it each time I first put it in the water. Not sure where to begin troubleshooting the electric choke.

I'm relatively mechanically inclined but outboards are brand new to me as are jet drives so I'd like to understand how this thing works and how to diagnose common issues and whatnot before I go too far on the rivers with it.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    273 KB · Views: 24
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    345.9 KB · Views: 27
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    381.7 KB · Views: 22
Well I guess having the choke solenoid missing from the motor would explain the electric choke not working...Figuring things out slowly but steadily