Logo

'72 Johnson 4hp Runs for 5min then dies.

Tpotter1100

Hello everyone,
I am a novice to the boating world and have just purchased my first lil Jon boat. Along with it came this sweet lil 1972 Johnson 4hp with the weedless drive. The only history i have is that it ran about a year and a half ago, and it leaks a little on the fuel pump cap.

So...Here is what i have done so far.....

I purchased new plugs, new impeller, carb kit, fuel pump kit/cap/filter, installed new gear oil.
At the moment, using the owners gas tank and primer bulb.

Installed new impeller. (the impeller seemed slightly larger than the cover, meaning that i had to turn the shaft Clockwise while installing the cover to bend the tabs enough on the impeller to allow the cover to go on) Is that normal??

New plugs, new gear oil (installed from bottom port).

Removed Carburetor and all components found that the jets were severely clogged, and cleaned with carb cleaner really good. (i unfortunately do not have a compressor) I installed new bowl gasket, float, needle, and gasket over middle jet. I also installed 2 small gaskets inside each chamber for the high and low lean/rich ports. Is this correct?? the parts diagram seemed to show 2-3 gaskets stacked inside?? but when i cleaned it out, it only looked like two were inside but however they were all crumbling apart when removed.
I set the low speed adjustment 1 1/2 turns out, and high about 1 turn out.

**One thing i am now seeing after further research was that i failed to do was remove the little plug that is on the bowl cover**
But i believe this is for low speed circuit in carb??

I have removed the fuel pump, and found a tutorial on how to rebuild it. after rebuild verified that the check valve inside was working properly by blowing through the inlet, and not able to blow through the outlet. Now i have no leaks when the bulb is pressurized, yay!