Logo

7.5HP 4 Stroke Honda BF75 No Spark

dam123

Hi guys, I recently purchased a 4 Stroke 7.5HP Honda outboard engine without and handle and I've not had any luck with starting it. I get fuel at the spark plugs as normal but no spark what so ever. I'm new to outboards so I don't know a lot about them. Is there any chance that I can bypass the start button on the handle (if there is one) and start it. I hope to resolve this issue by the end of next week because I'm going on a camping trip and I need an outboard engine.Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

That's probably a stop button not a start button.
You can disconnect it if you think that's the problem.
The spark on those can be very difficult to see.
Best to try it in low or no light.

Agree completely with alumarine. No start button.....only stop button. The button is used to GROUND OUT the coil under the flywheel that feeds the ignition coil voltage. Make sure that wire isn't grounded.
He is also correct about how faint the spark is. Try pulling over engine in the dark to verify no spark.
Many of these older models will have a "neutral start switch" mounted on the shaft that is connected to the shift lever. It is located on that shaft just inside the oil case on the starboard side of the outboard. Those go bad or get out of adjustment and won't allow spark.
Do you have a voltmeter and know how to use it? That can help alot when figuring out a no spark condition.

I have a similar issue, but was able to muster a weak spark after replacing the condenser with one I had to hawk to stay in place. The plastic section of the points that touches the cam is visibly worn and Im trying to get a set of points. The condenser is NLA, only one for sale on ebay as a part of a tuneup kit for a mere $150 and a used one for $22