Logo

4.3L Starting/idling issues

1marc1

Contributing Member
K im fairly new to boating just bought my first one this year from a close family friend. Its a 2003 VIP with a 4.3L Mercruiser EFI. Im pretty mechanical, worked on many things throughout my life but total rookie marine mechanic now. Anyway I purchased the boat in winter, as far i knew it was winterized properly so when the warm weather came about i put another 60 bucks of regular into it and filled the tank. I've taken the boat out a couple times with no problems, always started good and always ran good. On May long weekend I had the boat wide open for a little while and probably had it trimmed up a bit too much cause i caught a weird wave and made the boat go a little snakey for a quick sec. After that i powered down to idle quickly and then shut off the engine right away. When i idled it down for that brief moment it seemed to still be running good from what i recall.....so i turned the ignition off, we just sat around for a brief couple minutes and talked. I went to go start the boat and nothing........it turned over and over and over and over. I was in complete disbelief why it was not starting especially an EFI. After a bit of cranking i figured it might be a good idea to give it some throttle and sure enough it fired and it seemed alright at a high RPM throttle but the second i'd drop it back to idle it would want to die and sputter. So after a couple minutes of trying to get it to go i finally got it to go from idle in to gear so we could get back to the boat launch on our way there it ran a lil weird on my low rpm's for a few seconds until i gave it more throttle and then it was back to life and back to normal. I just figured i flooded it and its ok now. But when we got back to the boat launch it was the same thing, took down to idle expecting it to be ok but no......it just wanted to stall out.